Law Syllabus PPSC Exam

Updated on: Mar 5, 2013
Section A - (Constitutional and Administrative Law)

1. Nature of Indian Constitution and its distinctive features.
2. Fundamental Rights, Directive Principles and Fundamental Duties. (Including Right to Information Act.,2003.)
3. Principles of Natural Justice, Rule of Law and Doctrine of Separation of Powers.
4. Law of Writs.
5. Governor and his powers.
6. Centre – State Relations.
7. Delegated Legislation.
8. Civil Servants and Constitutional Safeguards.

Section B - (International Law)

1. Nature and Definition of International Law and Relation ship between International Law and Municipal Law.
2. Law of the Sea.
3. Human Rights and Human Rights Protection Act, 1993.
4. Extradition, Asylum and Diplomatic Privileges and Immunities.
5. (a) United Nations, Its Principal Organs, Powers and Functions.
      (b) Settlement of Disputes and International Criminal Court.
6. International Terrorism, State sponsored Terrorism and various Control Mechanisms.
7. New International Economic Order.
8. Protection and Improvement of Human Environment including Environment Protection Act, 1986.

Section C - (Criminal Law and Torts)

1. General Exceptions.
2. Joint Constructive Liability, Abetment and Criminal Conspiracy.
3. Offences against Human Body.
4. Offences against Property.
5. Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988
Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961.
6. General Principles of Tortious Liability including State Liability and Strict Liability.
7. General Defences.
8. Negligence and Nuisance

Section D - (Commercial Law)

1. General Principles of Law of Contract including Void, Voidable, Illegal and Unenforceable Agreements.
2. Performance and Discharge of Contracts.
3. Quasi-Contracts.
4. Contract of Agency.
5. Formation and Dissolution of Partnership.
6. Sale of Goods Act, 1930.
7. Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996.
8. Consumer Protection Act, 1986.
Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Punjab
Explore our interactive map!